Rosalee Yeaworth, RN, PhD, c. 2002



Rosalee Yeaworth, RN, PhD, c. 2002




In her many years of service to UNMC, Rosalee Yeaworth, RN, PhD, increased the opportunities for nursing education in Nebraska.

In 1979, Dr. Yeaworth was hired as the fourth dean in the College of Nursing. During her tenure, she guided the establishment of nursing campuses in Scottsbluff (1987) and Kearney (1991), which improved access to nursing education across the state. he also facilitated expansion of degree offerings at Kearney, and developed the Faculty Assistance for Doctoral Study program, where qualified faculty members could take a leave of absence for one year at half salary while pursuing doctoral studies. As a result, many College of Nursing faculty were able to pursue graduate degrees. While she stepped down from the position of dean in 1994, Dr. Yeaworth continued to teach in the College of Nursing for several years, eventually retiring as both professor emeritus and dean emeritus.

In retirement, Dr. Yeaworth continued to make contributions to the health of Nebraskans. Governor Mike Johanns appointed Dr. Yeaworth to the Nebraska Center for Nursing Board, which addresses concerns of the Nebraska nursing workforce. Dr. Yeaworth served as state director of AARP Health Advocacy Services from 1998 to 2000, providing resources about Medicare, Medicaid, long-term care, prescription drugs, and caregiving. She then spent six years on the Health and Long-Term Care Committee of AARP's National Policy Council. Dr. Yeaworth was also committed to working with Alzheimer's patients as an advocate for them and their families. She testified many times in the legislature to assist in passing aid for Alzheimer's patients.

Dr. Yeaworth received many honors in her career, including the AARP Andrus Award for Community Service for Nebraska, and she twice received the Outstanding Achievement in Nursing Award from the Nebraska Nurses Association. Dr. Yeaworth was the 2002 recipient of UNMC’s J.G. Elliott Award, considered the university’s most prestigious award, honoring those who have had a significant impact on health sciences in Nebraska. Since 1995, the College of Nursing has annually given out the Rosalee C. Yeaworth Teaching Excellence Award to a faculty member in her honor.


From the McGoogan Health Sciences Library Special Collections and Archives


College of Nursing

Item sets

Site pages